Troldtekt, Vestas

LEED, BREEAM and DGNB are the three leading, voluntary certification schemes within sustainable building. The Ramboll Group has documented how Troldtekt can contribute with points for the focus areas such as life cycle costs, indoor climate and materials in the three certification schemes.

Established in 1998, the American sustainability certification scheme for buildings, LEED, is implemented worldwide and today you find LEED certified buildings in more than 135 countries. BREEAM is the British sustainability certification scheme for buildings and is used in more than 50 countries. Countries like Norway and The Netherlands have developed their own versions of BREEAM.

As the most recent certification scheme for sustainable building, German DGNB was launched in 2008 as a so-called second-generation system and is very inclusive in its analysis of buildings and considers all aspects of sustainability.

In 2012 Denmark published a national adapted version of DGNB, which was last updated in new 2016 manuals. However, many multinational companies stick to just one scheme across national borders. Among others, the Vestas Technology R&D Centre in Lem, near the West Jutland coast, is therefore LEED-certified and as the first in Denmark has been LEED Platinum-certified. Read the Vestas Technology R&D case.

Sustainable building is about more than the environment. Therefore, the voluntary certification schemes operate with a number of focus areas within everything from economics and management to energy and well-being. Rambøll has documented that Troldtekt contributes to the three certification schemes within the following focus areas:

  • Life cycle costs
  • Acoustic indoor climate
  • Atmospheric indoor climate and toxicity
  • Psychological indoor climate (art)
  • Materials, including:
    • Life cycle assessment
    • Regionality
    • Renewability and reuse
    • Recycled content
    • Procurement of materials
    • Fire safety
    • Construction site waste management 

DGNB logo


DGNB which stands for "Deutsche Gesellshaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen" is the German sustainability certification scheme for buildings completed since 2008. The Green Building Council Denmark (DK-GBC) has decided to follow the DGNB guidelines and adjust these to fit Danish requirements.

Troldtekt LEED logo


LEED which stands for "Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design" is the American sustainability certification scheme for buildings. LEED is administered by the U.S. Green Building Council and there are LEED-certified buildings in more than 135 countries.



Troldtekt Breeam logo


BREEAM is the British sustainability certification scheme for buildings. BREEAM stands for "Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method".

In Great Britain, BREEAM is administered by BRE, which is one of the founders of UK Green Building Council. BREEAM is used in more than 50 countries and several European countries have developed editions of BREEAM that have been adapted for national use, among them The Netherlands and Norway.



Troldtekt diagram, sustainable building certifications